Kligerman wins NASCAR Truck Series race at Mid-Ohio

Part-time driver Parker Kligerman held off points leader Zane Smith to win the NASCAR Truck Series race at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on Saturday.

Kligerman led 56 of 67 laps on the 2.258-mile course, winning by 0.119 seconds in the No. 75 Henderson Motorsports Chevrolet. It was his third career victory in the series and the first in five years.

“It’s hard to put into words,” Kligerman said. “I was quite emotional in the recovery lap because this whole team is like a second chance team. Two years ago, I thought my riding days were over. This team called me, wanting to get back to racing and it’s just been a steady improvement.

Carson Hocevar finished third, and Stewart Friesen and Christian Eckes rounded out the top five.

Kligerman took an extra $50,000 in pay in the last race of the Triple Truck Challenge bonus program.

Kligerman led 17 of 20 laps to claim the Stage 1 victory. Smith edged Kligerman for the Stage 2 victory, bit by bit passing him on the final lap of the segment.

Corey Heim started from pole and led three laps from the start and remained solidly in the top five until his No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota lost power with seven laps remaining. This led to a final restart with three laps to go.

Trackhouse Racing co-owner Justin Marks made his first start in the series since 2018. Marks, a former Mid-Ohio winner in the Xfinity Series, finished 31st in the field of 36 trucks. His day ended after his No. 41 Niece Motorsports truck crashed into the Turn 4 tire barrier with 18 laps to go.


More AP Auto Racing: https://apnews.com/hub/auto-racing and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Comments are closed.